About PLC

 The Peking University - Lincoln Institute Center for Urban Development and Land Policy (PKU - Lincoln Center) was jointly established on October 9, 2007 by Peking University and the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy in Beijing. The Center conducts policy research and provides expertise and training on issues and challenges surrounding China’s rapid urbanization, land policy, and public finance.

Original Research
The PKU - Lincoln Center’s main areas of focus include property taxation, local public finance, land policy, housing policy, urban development and planning, and sustainable development and environmental policy.

  Equipped with the superior research capabilities of Peking University and the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, the PKU - Lincoln Center uses an interdisciplinary approach and its access to a global network of prominent scholars in a variety of fields to engage in comprehensive, data-based empirical study and policy research.

Scholarly Dialogue
The PKU - Lincoln Center maintains close relationships with universities, government agencies, and other organizations by organizing numerous international symposia and roundtable seminars.

  Since the end of 2012, the Center will have already held over 30 international and domestic seminars that have drawn in over 1000 participants and covered a diverse range of issues, including: local public finance and property taxation; revisions to China’s land use and Land Administration Law; low-income housing and housing policies; urban transformation and sustainable development; the improvement of urban transportation systems; green cities; and environmental taxation.

  The Center has also provided sponsorship for several researchers to attend global academic conferences in places such as Cambridge, Massachusetts, and Washington, D.C., the United States, Cape town, South Africa, Hong Kong, and Kyoto, Japan. This allows the Center to share the findings of its most recent research, and at the same time establish strong academic ties between Chinese scholars and their counterparts across the world.

Capacity Building

  The Center draws on the Lincoln Institute’s extensive experience and research abilities to conduct targeted professional training programs for professors, researchers, and government officials at every level. The PKU - Lincoln Center also sponsors and designs a variety of pilot programs in order to facilitate the government’s work in the promotion and application of new technologies.

  The Center also hosts a “Training the Trainers” program annually, which has brought in over 500 participants since 2007 with the curriculum focused on such issues as urban planning, public finance and property taxation, and urban economics. Moreover, the Center has recorded and translated these seminars into free online courses for public use in the Center’s Online Education Courses platform. .

  The Center’s Lincoln Forum - Distinguished Speakers Series, which has been successfully held for 30 times, regularly welcomes distinguished international speakers to lecture on vital topics like planning support systems, fiscal federalism and decentralization in the US, and the effects of the global financial crisis on public finances in the U.S.

Fellowships
In order to encourage more scholars to study land and urban policy issues, the Center has established several scholarship programs including dissertation, research and undergraduate fellowships, as well as visiting fellowships for distinguished international scholars. Since 2007, the Center has supported more than 160 scholars and students.

Knowledge Sharing
To promote further access to research findings, the Center has established a diverse portfolio of publishing projects, including working papers that can be accessed for free online, as well as topical research compilations, thesis anthologies, foreign language translations of published works, and professional curricula practicum materials. Using a combination of traditional print media and online electronic media, the Center is able to offer academic and policy research materials to the broader public in China.

  Since its foundation, the Center has made great progress in a variety of fields. In five years’ time it has published over 200 working papers and over 30 special research reports, as well as compiled and translated 14 books.

Partnerships
The Center has worked continually with government bodies such as the Ministry of Land and Resources (MLR), the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development (MOHURD), the State Administration of Taxation (SAT), the Ministry of Finance (MOF), the Ministry of Transport (MOT),and the Development Research Center of the State Council (DRC) to design and launch multiple demonstration programs, all while providing technical training and support to these government agencies’ executive officers.

  Since its establishment, the Center has received strong support from Peking University, the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, the knowledge and wisdom of many distinguished scholars, and all other partners around the world. The Center will continue to work on serving as a bridge across countries, institutions, and disciplines, striving for a new model for educational and research institutions in China to study high-quality and independent policy issues from a combination of disciplinary approaches.

中心介绍

扫一扫,关注微信公众号

北京大学-林肯研究院城市发展与土地政策研究中心(简称“北大-林肯中心”)由北京大学与林肯土地政策研究院于2007109日在北京联合成立,旨在为应对中国快速城市化进程中的问题与挑战,提供扎实的专业知识、教育培训与政策研究。 

政策研究

北大-林肯中心的研究主要集中在房地产税与地方公共财政、土地政策、住房政策、城市发展与规划、可持续发展与环境政策等领域。 

依托北京大学和林肯土地政策研究院雄厚的科研实力,北大-林肯中心以跨学科的研究课题为载体,汇集国内外相关领域知名学者,开展全面的、基于数据的实证分析与政策研究。 

学术交流

中心不定期举办各类学术研讨会和圆桌讨论会,与高校、政府部门、研究机构之间保持着密切的学术交流与沟通。 

截止2013年,中心已先后承办国际、国内专题研讨会30余次,累计参与人数过千人,涉及领域包括地方公共财政与房地产税、中国土地利用与《土地管理法》修订、低收入住房问题与住房政策、城市转型与可持续发展、城市交通善治、绿色城市发展与环境税等。

中心还资助多位研究员先后参加了在日本京都、美国剑桥、芝加哥、南非开普敦、香港等地举办的国际学术会议,在展示中心最新研究成果的同时,搭建起国内学者与国际学界交流沟通的学术桥梁。 

能力建设

借助林肯土地政策研究院在相关领域国际领先的研究实力与丰富的培训经验,北大-林肯中心面向国内高校教师、研究人员及政府官员提供具有针对性的专业知识培训。 

中心每年暑期定期举办“培训培训者”(Training the Trainers)项目,开设课程已涵盖城市规划、公共财政与房地产税、城市经济学等领域,累计参与学员近500人次。中心同时将暑期培训及房地产税征管经验的培训做成在线课程,免费提供给感兴趣的各界人士学习。

中心开设“林肯讲座”,吸引众多国际国内知名专家学者到访讲学,现已成功举办27场,得到了校内外师生的一致认可与支持。

教育资助

为吸引并支持更多的学者从事与中心研究领域相关的研究与教学,北大-林肯中心设立了“学位论文奖学金”、“研究基金”和“北京大学本科生研究基金”等多个资助项目。目前,接受中心资助的青年学者已经达到160人,遍及国内、国外多所高校与研究机构。 

成果分享

为促进研究成果的进一步传播,中心出版计划包括:提供免费的工作论文在线阅读、汇编学术论文集、编著专题研究报告、翻译外文书册、编纂专业实用教程等。利用传统刊印与网上电子书刊相结合的方式,为各届人士提供一手学术研究资料。

自成立以来,中心相关研究领域均取得了显著进展。五年内相继完成工作论文200余篇、专题报告30余册,编著、翻译书册共12本,还出版了6期研究简报。 

机构合作

中心多次与中国国土资源部、住房和城乡建设部、国家税务总局、财政部、交通运输部、国务院发展研究中心等政府机构成功合作,协助上述部门各类示范性项目的设计与实施,并适时为执行项目官员提供专业的技术培训与咨询服务。

 北大-林肯中心成立至今,得到了北京大学和林肯土地政策研究院以及其他所有合作伙伴的大力支持,凝聚了国内外诸多领域专家学者的智慧。中心将会继续完善各方面工作,积极发挥跨国家、跨机构、跨学科的桥梁纽带作用,努力开创中国教育与研究机构跨学科合作的新模式,为提供高质量的、有独立见解的政策研究而不懈努力。